Weird Food Combos and Window Shopping: No Spend Month Week 3

Standard

Where have you been, Erin? Spending tons of cash living the high life?

Of course not. But I have been ducking you, Internet. I have.

Drew took a trip to Boston for work last week, which meant 1) I had no time to blog because babies are so needy and helpless. So selfish, really. And 2) I don’t love letting people know when he’s out of town, because I have this terrible, irrational fear that someone will want to break in and kidnap my needy, helpless, selfish, incredible, amazing little baby.

So I went underground for a little while. Don’t worry, I didn’t drop off the radar so that I could silently scroll through the latest Zulily and Groupon offerings.

Well, OK. I have looked at Zulily and Groupon. A lot. It’s sort of eerie how my mind drifts to spending money when I’m bored or need a break or I’m drifting off to sleep. It’s like my natural state is one of constant spending. Like when you hear about scientists that raised bear cubs to be sweet and cuddly in captivity, but the second they released them, they turned back into carnivorous animals. I need projects like this to keep me from becoming a bear cub with a debit card.

Related: I told Drew last night that I read about a two-month sugar detox that I want to try. “Come on! Why can’t we be normal Americans who buy stuff and eat crap?!” was his answer. So, it’s a definite maybe. I’ll keep working on him.

Anyway, while my husband was off on this work trip to Boston, sending me pictures of all the great meals he was eating (paid for by the company), and all the great sessions he was attending at this conference, I was surfing the Internet for stuff I can’t buy.

The week went fairly quickly and uneventfully, although we went to an amazing wedding on Saturday night and treated ourselves to a drink at the bar ($10). Sunday meant another round of avocados for the baby ($5.89) and Drew had to fill his car with gas when he got back ($42).

We’ve spent a little less than $90 for the month, and our pantry and freezer collection of food is starting to get weird. My meal board includes daring combinations like “meatloaf & a berry smoothie” or “chipotle chicken and pineapple.” And I’m discovering a vast – and I mean VAST – array of sauces, marinades and spices that I just had to have. All sitting in my pantry, unused. For the last week of this challenge, I’m going to resist grocery shopping and try to use up some of the random, potentially terrible, things going on in our pantry.

Wish us luck.

Spent this week: $57.89

Spent so far: $89.27

Leave a comment